Is it Sad?

Is it a sad thing that I spent the entire day of  Tuesday, the 3rd of June, another sleepy, dusty, delta day, 2008, watching old episodes of Wings?  I mean doesn’t a merry heart doeth good like a medicine?   If so, I am healed.  Why are you twisting your lips at me because I wanted to laugh all day?  I laughed all day.  I watched some episodes twice.  I was ROFL everytime Lowell made that ridiculous jerk from side to side with his body when he thought that “Slack-Ass” sounded like a great new nickname.   When Helen grabbed Antonio up by his collar and slammed him against the lunch counter and threatened to kill him if he didn’t say the right things to the priest who was interviewing them for annulment of their marriage of convenience –  I laughed til I cried.   You know, she married him that year so that he wouldn’t be deported back to Italy.   I actually think that Brian and Joe are really good looking beefcake.  (Can you believe I just used the term “beefcake“)

I also watched “The Music Box” a couple of times.  It just cracks me up that Stan Laurel and Oliver Hardy are stupid enough to lug a crated player piano up this tremendous quarter-mile of steps in the hot California sun…3 times.  When Prof. von Schwarzenhoffen comes down the steps and insist they move out of the way, I can hardly contain myself when Stan slaps the Professor’s top hat off his head and it topples down the zillion flights of steps to the street.   They get to the top of the steps almost to the door of the house where they are to deliver the piano and the mailman shows up and tells them they could have just ridden around to the front of the house and avoided the steps.  Those two imbeciles take the piano back down the steps, load it back on their horse-drawn wagon and drive it around.   I’m cracking up.   Then when they do get to the house they bust me up with even more ridiculous shenanigans as they totally destroy the Professor’s house.   It’s just brutal the way they make me laugh.

Okay, I don’t mean to get deep on you, but laughter is so spiritual to me.  It literally sweeps my soul and clears out all the negative crap that may be trying to set up camp.  It clears my perspective like the delete button…no –more like the format process.

I laugh with all my might til I’m physically weak.  I double over and laugh.  I throw my head back and laugh.  I hold my stomach and laugh.  I sit down and rest my forearms on my knees and laugh.   Tears come out.  I take a deep, deep breath and blow out a loud “whew.”   Then I start up again until I’m thoroughly satisfied.   Then I sit there for a second or two and shake my head and sniggle a little bit.   Now…at this point…if I’m not careful…I could start up all over again.   But usually I try to get a hold of myself at this time, because other people around me don’t really understand my intensity.  Oh yeah, at first they laugh with me, but then they start to get nervous.   My family, friends and loved ones know me well enough not to worry.  They just shake their heads and walk away.  They know to just give me some space and it’ll be over in a minute or two.   But I have to be careful around strangers.  Over the years I’ve learned to employ some cut-off mechanisms but they are shaky and not to be totally relied upon.   I finish my laugh-circuit and stand up straight again and I brush myself off and I say “Thank you Lord,”  cause I’m truly grateful that He gave me this ability to laugh like a crazy woman.

So don’t ever ask me “What’s so funy?”  cause you could start me up again.

-30-

About rhonda waller

I'm a writer. I'm a retired Air Force sergeant. When I'm not at my leisure, I'm training. I do all types of Human Capital training and I'm very good at it, because I love it. It's a blessing to do what you love. There's nothing like helping people improve themselves; helping them to hone their talents, skills, and abilities. I always end up learning as much as my students, because everyone brings something to the table. I enjoy reading, writing, music, movies, friends and life.
This entry was posted in Short Story and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

