Caught on Tape

My son has informed me that this talking to myself crap is getting out of hand.

Mom, I just timed it and you weren’t silent for three minutes a shot.

Shut up.  Was my grownup reply.

So, I’m standing in the line at the Post Office amusing myself while I waited by not only repeating the lines to myself, but also making all the ridiculous faces that George Clooney made as he played the character Ulysses Everett McGill in the movie O’Brother Where Art Thou?

That movie is a hoot and George Clooney is gorgeous.  I’m just cracking myself up, remembering the scene where he goes into the little country store and tries to order a part to fix the car that he and his cohorts have stolen.  Frustrated by the proprietor telling him it will take two weeks, he just settles for getting a can of his favorite hair pomade.

Vendor:  I can get the part from Bristol.  It’ll take two weeks, here’s your pomade.

Ulysses Everett McGill:  Two weeks? That don’t do me no good.

Vendor:  Nearest Ford auto man’s Bristol.

Ulysses Everett McGill:  Hold on, I don’t want this pomade.  I want Dapper Dan.

Vendor:  I don’t carry Dapper Dan, I carry FOP

Ulysses Everett McGill:  Well, I don’t want FOP, goddammit! I’m a Dapper Dan man!

Vendor:  Watch your language, young feller, this is a public market.  Now if you want Dapper Dan, I can order it for you.  Have it in a couple of weeks.

Ulysses Everett McGill:  Well, aint this place a geographical oddity.  Two weeks from everywhere!

I’m doing the parts in my head and giggling to myself at the way he said  “I don’t want FOP, goddammit! I’m a Dapper Dan man!”

I’m even shaking my head the way he does it.  After all, nobody’s looking at me.  This long line of Postal customers are just waiting patiently for their turn at the teller.  It’s lunch time and people are in a hurry.  I figure, instead of getting frustrated and impatient, I’ll just amuse myself.  I’m a happy kinda girl…and as you know from previous posts…I love to laugh.  I just crack myself up at that last line as I remember the look on Clooney’s face when he delivers it…

Well, ain’t this place a geographical oddity… two weeks from everywhere!

Sniggle, sniggle, sniggle…my shoulders are shaking with laughter.  I’m not worried.  The people in front of me are facing front, so they can’t see the faces I’m making and the people behind me are to my back, so if they see me quake a little from laughter…it’s not that bad.

That’s when I noticed the cameras.

About rhonda waller

I'm a writer. I'm a retired Air Force sergeant. When I'm not at my leisure, I'm training. I do all types of Human Capital training and I'm very good at it, because I love it. It's a blessing to do what you love. There's nothing like helping people improve themselves; helping them to hone their talents, skills, and abilities. I always end up learning as much as my students, because everyone brings something to the table. I enjoy reading, writing, music, movies, friends and life.
This entry was posted in Short Story and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

