Past Sin

 Past sin has tried to strangle me

and cause me to start falling.

It’s tried to quench the spirit walk,

and overcome my calling.

It creeps up at the worst of times,

to trample out the fire.

It sneaks right up to steal the things,

that cause me to go higher.

My initiative, my joy, my zeal,

escape me in the fight.

As I do battle with the past,

when I chose not the right.

I cry out to my Lord for He

reminds me in this test.

“Forget those things which are behind.”

Toward the mark, I press.

The blood of goats and rams did not,

for past sin compensate.

It was the blood of God’s own Son

that would propitiate.

Therefore, it’s up to me to live

as though I am aware

That sins which plagued me in the past

they are no longer there.

So when past sin comes up and tries

to take me by the hand,

I wield again the sword of truth,

in righteous boots I stand.

My Advocate stands to His feet.

“She’s mine. My blood is there.”

And, once again, safe through the test

on Him I cast my care.

I shout, “Not so!

Oh praise the Lord!

In Jesus’ Name, Not me!

That poor old man has died with Christ.

I’m born again.  I’m free!”

Past sin has tried to strangle me

and cause my heart to fail.

But Jesus Christ has set me free.

Sin comes to no avail.

About rhonda waller

I'm a writer. I'm a retired Air Force sergeant. When I'm not at my leisure, I'm training. I do all types of Human Capital training and I'm very good at it, because I love it. It's a blessing to do what you love. There's nothing like helping people improve themselves; helping them to hone their talents, skills, and abilities. I always end up learning as much as my students, because everyone brings something to the table. I enjoy reading, writing, music, movies, friends and life.
This entry was posted in Prose. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

